Telraam S2 review so far

ok, so I’ve been running a Pi based Telraam for over 3 years, have been helping with my local council (Parish level in England) on a medium term traffic survey using ~10 Pi based devices, & have recently put in a Telraam S2.

First impressions: Wow. It’s a big step forward. Well thought out - from packaging (shows you how to attach the mount) to cable (3m to reach from socket to window) to camera (wide field of view to suit more locations). Power consumption is around 1W - about 1/3 or less of the S1 (measured using an inline USB device as my socket testers were not sensitive enough to detect this!!) Set up is straightforward (it just works*), configuration is simple. It seems to be very reliable - much more so than the Pi based solution, albeit mostly due to form factor (no camera to knock / wi-fi to glitch). Counting seems to be improved over the S1 / Pi based device, due to a number of reasons:

• improved field of view - S1 in the same location could not ‘see’ the pavement below AND all of the road - the S2 improves this (location is right above a ~1.5m wide pavement)
  • It appears to differentiate between different vehicles more reliably - fewer cases of cars with shadows being counted as bicycles (though this location is not the most challenging for that issue).

There are some UK specific points:

• The device shipped with the standard EU PSU & cable, but also with a UK PSU - ideally the EU one would have been removed & re-used (!); the UK PSU has a fixed, shorted cable, I purchased a USB-C to USB-C cable to lengthen it (a cheap upgrade, but may be necessary). No complaints here, just observations.