If cars were made illegal tomorrow, what do you imagine it would be like?

This is a question that came to my mind the other night when emergency roadworks, caused by one of the MANY broken water mains here in the UK, closed our road. It is a major road and very rarely closed.

If cars were made illegal tomorrow, what would be the first thing you’d notice in your street?

What if cars (but not buses and other vehicles, just the private transport vehicle) weren’t just not allowed on your street, but actually disappeared? What do you imagine would be the immediate (and long-term) changes you’d see in your street and town / city?

I’ll go first (since I can) :wink:

As a London resident, I imagine that most people would resort to public transport - buses on the streets, and make much more use of our station that already combines mainline trains and the ‘overgound’ (strangely one of the London Underground rail lines).

I imagine a great many pedestrians in the first instance, walking to the station, and standing in orderly queues for buses.

As I specifically did not ban trucks and delivery vehicles, I actually imagine these would multiply on our street, because with fewer cars to get in the way, businesses would feel more able to move goods around. It means that for whatever reason the cars were banned, it would be important to also ensure that polluting trucks were limited in some way.

Over time, I can see electric bikes and scooters taking over, and other innovative solutions that become safer to use on streets free of cars, like updated versions of the Segway or hoverboards, becoming more popular for “personal transport”

I imagine that all the “out of town” shopping would have to be transformed, with that retail space converted for green housing, and a revival of convenient local shops (offering local delivery by bike).